Meet the Team…

Last week, we had a very exciting meeting with all of our cast and crew getting together for the first time. We thought it was time for you to meet the amazing people taking part in this project.

Actors:

FullSizeRenderBethan Hughes
I am currently studying drama at GCSE and plan to continue at A-Level next year. I recently had my first audition for the National Youth Theatre. Theatre can be a fantastic way of exploring issues thatmay be difficult to talk about in every day life. As mental health is one such issue, I was interested as to how Theatre of Minds could raise awareness and portray a subject which we often shy away from.

FullSizeRender (8)Emily Webster
I am currently studying drama at As level. In the past year I have co-directed and performed in ‘The Boy Preference’ at the National Theatre, recieved a distinction in my Grade 8 LAMDA and performed in various other producitons such as ‘Wind in the Willows’ (in which I played Badger, ‘Grease’ and ‘A Collection of Pieces by Dario Fo and Franca Rame’. What I love about the theatre is its power in its ability to expose taboo topics that otherwise people ignore or sidestep and that’s why I’m so excited to be doing this project.

FullSizeRender (12)Gina Hunt
I have always been a huge theatre fan, yet it never fails to amaze me how a large an impact the theatre can have on an audience. That’s why I’m so excited for this project. The people that I’ve met and the experiences that I’ve had onstage have been invaluable to me, so I can’t wait to see what I can bring to Theatre of Minds and what Theatre of Minds can bring to St Albans.

 

FullSizeRender (6)

Lucy Wilson
At the moment I am studying GCSE Drama but I am planning to carry it on at A-Level as well. I really enjoy creating theatre, expecially physical theatre because the audience can interpret ithow they want, there is no right or wrong way of seeing things. Over the course of last year, I was part of a physical theatre group and I learnt so many new skills which I hope to be able to include in Theatre of Minds. I am very excited for Theatre of MInds – there are so many cool people involved and I can’t wait to start rehearsing!

FullSizeRender (9)

Mae Lankshear
I am sixteen years old and I am currently studying drama as one of my GCSEs at Beaumont School. I am planning on continuing through to A-Level. I love acting as it gives you an opportunity to connect to different perspectives and stories and share them with an audience. I am incredibly excited to take part in this project to raise awareness for such an important cause.

FullSizeRender (2)

Tamsin Sandford-Smith
I am incredibly excited to be taking part in the Theatre of Minds project this summer. I’m currently studying drama GCSE at Beaumont, and I hope to continue it at A-Level next year. Last year I was part of a physical theatre group exploring current issues, which made me realise just how powerful drama is as a medium to tell people’s stories – I am really looking forward to using the skills I learnt to raise money for such an important cause.

FullSizeRender (3)Toby Weidmann
I am currently studying drama and languages at A-Level. Mental illness has affected different members of my family in a variety of ways, so I have witnessed the effects of mental illness firsthand. I definitely think it should be taken much more seriously and I hope through this production we can help raise awareness of the struggles faced by the mentally ill.

FullSizeRender (1)

Tom Holmes
Studying A-Level drama at Beaumont School has provided me with several opportunities of performing/directing and choreographing. Playing roles such as Emcee in Cabaret has really inspired me to progress further in this field, as performing as part of a company is what I enjoy most about the theatre. Next year I will be studying a BA in Dance and Musical Theatre at Bird College and I am very excited to learn and work hard! I am very much looking forward to this project as I hope to gain valuable skills as part of the Theatre of Minds company!

Crew:

FullSizeRender (11)
Alex Powdrell

I study drama at GCSE and have been on the Beaumont lighting team for two years where I have lit shows like Grease and Wind in the Willows. I am looking forward to lighting this production too.

 

FullSizeRender (13)Elizabeth Barber
I am in Year 10 at St Georges, where I am currently studying GCSE drama. I am also a member of EDSA, where we are preparing for our end of year showcase.I am taking part in Theatre of Minds because I believe that theatre is one of the best ways to approach subject matters which may traditionally be difficult to talk about.

 

FullSizeRender (4)Hannah Crisp
I’m sixteen and studying drama as a GCSE. In the summer I went on a residential musical theatre course and loved it and learnt a lot of things from it. I love theatre because it is for everyone and there’s not just one type of theatre. There is something for everyone, whatever your age, gender or interests.

 

FullSizeRender (10)

 

Joe Vernon
I don’t study drama but I’m interested in the technical side. I have been on the lighting team at Beaumont for two years. I am looking forward to participating in this production.

 

Assistant Directors/Marketing/Photography etc:

FullSizeRender (7)Francesca Dore
My first major experience in theatre was when I won a place on the Royal Shakespeare Company’s ‘Taste of Theatre’ work experience course. The following year I became a member of the National Youth Theatre and have since got onto two playwriting programmes at the National Theatre. Most recently, I took part in a directing course also at the National. I believe that theatre is such a powerful medium to explore big issues like mental health which is why Theatre of Minds feels so important to me.

FullSizeRender (5)Katie Walton
I’m 17 and an A-Level student currently studying drama, art and english literature. I’m also a member of the current RADA youth compay where I am studying acting in a company of sixteen 16-21 year olds every weekend. Through this I’ve had some absolutely incredible teaching in a range of techniques including voice, movement, stage combat, alexander technique, puppetry and clowning. Unfortunately due to my RADA commitments, I’m not able to act in the Theatre of Minds production, however I want to contribute as I am really passionate about this amazing project. It’s so important to discuss and raise awareness of mental health, and theatre is a perfect medium to explore it in a generous and truthful way.

Director/Producer:

FullSizeRender (14)Beth Wilson 
One of the most important things that I have done as part of my gap year was getting involved with a play over at the Abbey Theatre in St Albans. I love the community and sense of belonging that theatre gives me and I can’t wait to share this project with that community. Last year I directed a piece about domestic abuse and the volume of people affected by it, and recently I attended a directing course with the National Theatre. Theatre of Minds is giving me the opportunity to develop the skills I have learnt even further and giving me a whole new set of experiences.

We are so excited to work with all these amazing people in July. Let’s put on a play people!!

 

2 thoughts on “Meet the Team…

Leave a Reply

