Why do I love the theatre?

Having just finished in a production last week, I’ve been thinking a lot about this. I am a regular sufferer of ‘post-show blues’ – I am so happy during the run but then when the show closes I really miss it. So I’ve been thinking about what it is that makes me so happy when I’m performing.

I know it’s such a cliche, but when I’m on stage I get to lose myself for awhile. I can leave my own problems behind for a couple of hours and step into someone else’s life. Often times I don’t even notice the audience are there – I’m in my own little world and it feels safe. All the decisions are already made for me and I just have to go out there and be my character: tell their story for awhile instead of living my own.

But something that I love even more than the performing buzz are the people. All the theatre that I have been involved in has this amazing sense of community coming with it as part of a packaged deal! During a run you see your cast and crew more than the people you live with; they see so many emotional ups and downs and that freedom to let yourself go gives you very strong friendships. Theatre brings people together: people from different backgrounds with different skills and passions are part of one big group. It’s not just the creative team who are brought together by the art – the audience are connected to each other and to the actors on stage, by the experience they are sharing.

I am so grateful for the families that the theatre has given me and I can’t wait to create more in the future. Theatre is the thing that I love most, so I want to use that for something else that I feel passionately about. I hope that you will join me in the Theatre of Minds Family.

One thought on “Why do I love the theatre?

Leave a Reply

